Index  (i)  (ii)  (iii)  (iv)  (v)  Preface.  (1)  (2)  (3)  (4)  (5)  (6)  (7)  (8)  (9)  (10)  (11)  (12)  (13)  (14)  (15)  (16)  (17)  (18)  (19)  (20)  (21) 

(ii) Chronology for Part 1 of Red House History

1816 John and Anne Wright, just married, came to live at Dudwick in the parish of Buxton, near Norwich.

1819 John's sister Mary married Isaac Sewell of Yarmouth. They had 2 children; Anna born 1820, authoress of "Black Beauty", Philip born 1822, heir to Dudwick and the Red House.

1850 John Wright assisted with the resettlement of discharged prisoners and accepted prisoners on licence on his several farms.

1852 John Wright held a meeting of Norfolk Magistrates and leading citizens in Norwich. It was agreed to form an establishment at Buxton " for the religious and industrial training of forty offenders under the age of twenty"

1854 Parliament passed the first Youthful Offenders Act. This authorised courts to commit to reformatory (as an alternative to prison) offenders under the age of sixteen, for terms not less than two or more than five years.

1855 Thomas Babington, first successful governor of Red House Reformatory, appointed. He remained for 42 years.

1870 W.E.Forster, the brother-in-law of Matthew Arnold, introduced the Elementary Education Act. In Forster's words, the purpose of the Bill was to "bring elementary education within the reach of every English home and within the reach of those children who have no home."

1870 Death of John Wright the founder and owner.

1894 Mr Herbert Asquith, the Home Secretary, signs the order confirming Red House as an Industrial school for up to 65 boys. Numbers increased to 80 in 1895, 90 in 1900, 96 in 1911 and 100 in 1914. Winston Churchill, the Then Home Secretary, signed the 1911 order. The new name to be the Red House Farm School, at Buxton, Norfolk.

1897 Death of the Governor Thomas Babington. His eldest son, Thomas S. had been his deputy for some years.

1898 Thomas S. Babington left to become governor of the Ashford Industrial Estate in Kent. His younger brother, Alfred took over at Buxton.

1906 Death of Philip Sewell, and financial crisis at Buxton. Ted Sewell becomes owner.

1908 Parliament approved "borstal" training for young offenders aged 16-21

1911 Exceptionally long hot summer. Coronation of King George V. Red House Manager knighted by the King in Norwich.

1913 Cyril Burt, the world's first school psychologist, appointed in London. His task was to discriminate between mentally deficient children and those who were just penalised by the state of their homes.

1926 The first feeble-minded boys sent to Red House. They had been weeded out of Home Office schools as not quite normal. The mental tests used were first developed in McDougall's post-graduate school at Oxford, by Cyril Burt and Jack Flugel.

1927 Alfred Babington retires from Red House where his father had been appointed 72 years earlier. Mr Augustus Clement appointed as new headmaster.

1931 Red House gets electric light

1933 The Children and Young Persons Act of 1933 came into force; a most important event in the history of the treatment of delinquent and neglected children. 1st November; Red House reclassified as an Approved school for 90 boys.

1937 Death of Ted Sewell in January, the last Sewell owner of Red House. His sister Margaret died that November.